top of page
Sonata no. 1:
Divine Frustration

Bach from the Heart brings you a unique perspective on the communicative powers of music and poetry. We are exploring one monumental work's mood, using excerpts from other musical and literary works which express similar feelings. The result is an emotional experience - a time for looking inside and letting the words and sounds transport you. For this concert you will need to bring not only open ears but open hearts as well.


The six sonatas and partitas for solo violin are like pillars in the violin repertoire. In Bach from the Heart, we are exploring them from the emotional angle. Written in different keys, each of the sonatas and partitas set their own particular mood. We begin with the first sonata in G minor, which inspired in us a set of works of music and poetry we titled "Divine Frustration". In building the program for this event, we considered the general mood of each specific key in conjunction with the emotional experience of listening to the sonata in its entirety. We deliberately avoided any intellectual connection between works, allowing for the possibility of any era of expression to merge with this sonata's feeling.

Bach From the Heart

6 immersive musical experiences based on Bach's 6 sonatas and partitas

Sheila Jaffé
Co-director, violin, viola and voice
Read her bio here
Catherine Cosbey
Co-director, violin
Read her bio here
Brenna Hardy-Kavanagh
Read her bio here
Peter Cosbey
Read his bio here
To be announced! All six concerts coming to you in Spring 2021.

Sonata no. 1 in G minor for violin solo - J. S. Bach (1685-1750)





String Quartet op. 18 no. 4 - Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

I - Allegro, ma non tanto

"The Waste Land" - T. S. Eliot (1888-1965)

Excerpt from Part I. The Burial of the Dead

Kafka Frangments, op. 24 - György Kurtág (born 1926)

Part II - Der Wahre Weg

Sonata for 2 violins, op. 56 - Sergey Prokofiev (1891-1953)

I - Andante Cantabile

II - Allegro

III - Commodo

"After While" (A Poem of Faith) - Paul Laurence Dunbar (1872-1906)

Duo for Violin and Viola in B flat Major, K.424 - W. A. Mozart (1756-1791)

II. Andante Cantabile

"Keep Walking" - Rumi (1207-1273)

String Quartet op. 130 - Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

V. Cavatina - Adagio molto espressivo

"The Waste Land" - T. S. Eliot (1888-1965)

Excerpt from Part V. What the Thunder Said

String Quartet op. 18 no. 4 - Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

IV. Allegro

**total length of program is approximately one hour - no intermission

We will let you know when tickets are available!
bottom of page